Conchological Society of Great Britain & Ireland

Report of the Council 2017

Council Positions

Mr P Topley began his third year as President of the Society. The following Society Officers were elected: Hon. General Secretary Miss R E Hill, Hon. Treasurer Mr N Light, Hon. Membership Secretary Ms B M Eastabrook, Hon. Editor (*Journal*) Ms AM Holmes, Hon. Editor (*Mollusc World*) Mr P Topley, Hon. Marine Recorder Mr S. Taylor, Hon. Non-Marine Recorder Mr A Norris, Hon. Conservation Officer Dr M J Willing, Hon. Programme Secretary Dr S Payne and Hon. Webmaster Dr S B Wilkinson. New Ordinary members of Council were: Mrs M Cousins, Ms P Lightfoot, Mrs H Shaw and Mr T J Tamblyn. Mr J D Ablett, Dr K N A Alexander and Dr B Goodwin began their second year. Dr M B Seddon, Dr E M Somerville and Dr T S White began their third year. However Dr S B Wilkinson resigned during the course of the year but kindly continued to assist with the website where necessary.

Publications

Two issues of the *Journal of Conchology* (Volume 42: 5-6) and three issues of *Mollusc World* (Numbers 43-45, March, July and November) were published. The Society's website www.conchsoc.org continues to provide information on the Society's news, activities, and details of field and indoor meetings. Interesting photos are posted on the front page and contributions continue to be welcomed by the Webmaster.

Other Council Matters

Four Council meetings were held. Amongst the matters considered by Council were: digital publication of the *Journal of Conchology*; Society data recording policy; upgrading the website; Trustee details provided to the Charity Commission; *Molluscs in Archaeology* reprint; the late Phil' Palmer's shell collection; and General Data Protection Regulations.

Two applications for research grants were received and two grants were awarded: £360 to Becky Hitchin 'Mating preference in *Polycera quadrilineata* – using citizen science initiatives to undertake ecological research' and £1000 to Levan Mumladze of Georgia entitled 'Elevational mollusc line in the Caucasus'.

The deaths of the following members were announced at Indoor Meetings: Dr Hugh Ingram, member since 1957 Mrs Elizabeth Platts member since 1976 Mr Derek Davies member since 1960

I would like to thank all members of Council and Society volunteers for their valuable contributions to Society activities. If anyone would like to help in the running of the Society, please contact the President or any of the Society Officers.

Rosemary Hill Hon General Secretary March 2018