Conchological Society of Great Britain & Ireland

Report of the Council 2016

Council Positions

Mr P Topley began his second year as President of the Society. The following Society Officers were elected: Hon. General Secretary Miss R E Hill, Hon. Treasurer Mr N Light, Hon. Membership Secretary Ms B M Eastabrook, Hon. Editor (*Journal*) Dr P G Oliver, Hon. Editor (*Mollusc World*) Mr P Topley, Hon. Marine Recorder Mr S. Taylor, Hon. Non-Marine Recorder Mr A Norris, Hon. Conservation Officer Dr M J Willing, Hon. Programme Secretary Dr S Payne and Hon. Webmaster Dr S B Wilkinson. New Ordinary members of Council were: Mr JD Ablett, Dr KNA Alexander and Dr B Goodwin. Dr MB Seddon, Dr EM Somerville and Dr TS White began their second year. Ms A Holmes and Mr T Walker began their third year. However Dr P G Oliver indicated that he wished to resign as Hon Editor (*Journal*) and during the course of the year Ms A Holmes kindly took over as Acting Editor, creating a vacancy on Council.

Publications

Two issues of the *Journal of Conchology* (Volume 42: 3-4) and three issues of *Mollusc World* (Numbers 40-42, March, July and November) were published. The Society's website www.conchsoc.org continues to provide information on the Society's news, activities, and details of field and indoor meetings. Interesting photos are posted on the front page and contributions are welcomed by the Webmaster.

Other Council Matters

Four Council meetings were held. Amongst the matters considered by Council were: progress on digital (as well as paper) publication of the *Journal of Conchology* which has been delayed by publisher takeovers; the *Molluscs in Archaeology* book which will be published in 2017; the purchase of a grab for marine fieldwork; and the implications of Brexit. Production of a UK freshwater snails leaflet is under discussion.

Four applications for research grants were received and one full grant was awarded: a grant to Reham Fathey Ali Mohamed for 'Land Mollusca Diversity in East Cairo Region in Egypt'.

The deaths of the following members were announced at Indoor Meetings: Mr. Ron Boyce, member since 1991 and Programme Secretary from 2003-11; Dr C Phil Palmer, former member and Marine Recorder; Dr. Rolanda M. Albuquerque de Matos member since 1982; Mr G Kroon life member and member since 1975; and Mr Ken Hill member since 1990.

I would like to thank all members of Council and Society volunteers for their valuable contributions to Society activities. If anyone would like to help in the running of the Society, please contact the President or any of the Society Officers.

Rosemary Hill Hon General Secretary February 2017