Conchological Society of Great Britain & Ireland

Report of the Council 2015

Council Positions

Mr P Topley began his first year as President of the Society. The following Society Officers were elected: Hon. General Secretary Miss R E Hill, Hon. Treasurer Mr N Light, Hon. Membership Secretary Ms B M Eastabrook, Hon. Editor (*Journal*) Dr P G Oliver, Hon. Editor (*Mollusc World*) Mr P Topley, Hon. Marine Recorder Mr S. Taylor, Hon. Non-Marine Recorder Mr A Norris, Hon. Conservation Officer Dr M J Willing, Hon. Programme Secretary Dr S Payne and Hon. Webmaster Dr S B Wilkinson. New Ordinary members of Council were: Dr MB Seddon, Dr EM Somerville and Dr TS White. Ms A Holmes and Mr T Walker began their second year. Mrs J Ridout-Sharpe and Mr D Worth began their third year and. A vacancy remained on Council because Mrs R Brooks resigned.

Publications

Two issues of the *Journal of Conchology* (Volume 42: 1-2) and three issues of *Mollusc World* (Numbers 37-39, March, July and November) were published. The Society's website <u>www.conchsoc.org</u> continues to provide information on the Society's news, activities, book auctions and details of field and indoor meetings. Interesting photos are posted on the front page and photos and other contributions are welcomed by the Webmaster. A second edition of *An illustrated guide to the land snails of the British Isles* was published jointly with the Malacological Society of London and the Natural History Museum.

Other Council Matters

Four Council meetings were held. Amongst the matters considered by Council were: progress on digital (as well as paper) publication of the *Journal of Conchology* which has proved more difficult than originally envisaged; Society publicity materials; development of the new Society logo; and progress with the *Molluscs in Archaeology* book.

Six applications for research grants were received and three grants were awarded: a full grant to Timothy Whitton and Anna Holmes (Identification and external morphological development of common British estuarine bivalves), and grants of £500 to Mauricio Fernandes (Anatomical investigation of triphorids (Gastropoda, Triphoridae) from Brazil) and Leonardo de Souza (Taxonomic review of Eulimidae (Mollusca: Caenogastropoda) from Brazil).

The deaths of the following members were announced at Indoor Meetings: David Lindley, member since 1989 and Graham Saunders, member since 2010.

I would like to thank all members of Council and Society volunteers for their valuable contributions to Society activities. If anyone would like to join us in the running of the Society, please contact the President or any of the Society Officers.

Rosemary Hill Hon General Secretary February 2016